Best Online MLIS Programs in Georgia (2027)

2027 Best Online Master’s in Library Science MLIS Degrees in Georgia

Compare ALA-accredited Georgia MLIS programs by tuition, format, and career outcomes

By Meredith SimmonsReviewed by MLIS Academic Advisory TeamUpdated August 29, 202612 min read
Best Online MLIS Programs in Georgia (2027)

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Valdosta State University offers Georgia's only ALA-accredited online MLIS, the standard for public and academic library jobs.
  • University of West Georgia's online program targets school library media specialists seeking GaPSC certification, not ALA accreditation.
  • Both Georgia MLIS programs have dropped GRE requirements and use holistic admissions with a 3.0 GPA benchmark.
  • BLS data places Georgia librarian wages near the national median, with most jobs concentrated in metro Atlanta.

Georgia offers two ALA-recognized routes into librarianship: Valdosta State University's fully online MLIS, the state's only ALA-accredited program, and Georgia College & State University's online M.Ed. in Library Media, the standard path for K-12 school librarian certification. Both are delivered online or in a hybrid format, making them workable for students already working full time.

Below you'll find program rankings, a side-by-side look at tuition and net price, plain-English notes on accreditation and admissions, current Georgia librarian salary data, and a step-by-step guide to getting certified in 2026. If you'd rather compare options across state lines, our directory of accredited MLIS degree programs covers the national landscape.

Best Online MLIS Programs in Georgia for 2027

For 2026, two fully online public university options in Georgia lead the library science conversation, and they prepare students for different roles. Valdosta State University is the only school in the state offering a fully online ALA-accredited Master of Library and Information Science, while the University of West Georgia delivers a fully online M.Ed. with a School Library Media concentration for educators headed into school library settings. Readers should weigh the career setting they want, academic or public library work versus the school media center, when comparing these programs.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Strong first-year retention
  • Tuition adjusted for living costs
  • Online delivery and flexibility
  • Accreditation and program breadth
Data sources
  • Federal institutional data (NCES-IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA Regional Price Parities (state cost of living) — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Programmatic accreditation directories (ALA) — ala.org
  • Internal program database
  • Original research on individual programs

Valdosta State University

#1

Valdosta, GA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Best for: Working professionals wanting self-paced online flexibility

Valdosta State University is the only institution in Georgia offering a fully online, ALA-accredited Master of Library and Information Science, which makes it the most direct match for students seeking a traditional MLIS. The 36 credit hour, non-thesis program is student-paced with flexible enrollment options, and the curriculum is built around library administration, information organization, reference services, and information systems, with preparation for academic, public, and special library careers. University-level published in-state tuition and fees are about $6,124 a year, the typical net price is roughly $10,945, and the four-year graduation rate of about 42 percent applies to the university as a whole rather than to the MLIS program specifically.

ALA accredited
  • ALA accredited with continued accreditation status
  • 36 credit hours across 12 courses
  • Non-thesis structure, fully online format
  • Student-paced with flexible enrollment options
  • Focus areas include academic librarianship, children's services, and digital libraries
  • Prepares for academic, public, and special library roles
  • Career paths include archivist, digital librarian, library director, youth services
  • Bachelor's degree required for admission

University of West Georgia

#2

Carrollton, GA · $6,000/yr

Best for: K-12 educators pursuing school library roles

The University of West Georgia approaches library education from the school side: its fully online Master of Education in Instructional Technology, Media & Design includes a School Library Media concentration that prepares educators to lead school library and media programs. Coursework spans educational technology integration, digital resource management, media literacy instruction, instructional design, technology tools, and library administration, so the degree suits classroom teachers who want to move into library media specialist roles. Institution-wide published in-state tuition and fees are about $6,088 per year, the typical net price is close to $12,786, and the four-year graduation rate of roughly 43 percent is a campus-level figure rather than a program-level statistic.

  • Fully online Master of Education degree
  • School Library Media concentration for library specialist roles
  • Emphasis on instructional technology and media design
  • Covers digital resource management and media literacy
  • Includes instructional design, technology tools, and library administration
  • Flexible format designed for working educators

Tuition and Net Price: What a Georgia MLIS Actually Costs

Sticker tuition tells only part of the story for a Georgia MLIS. The table below pairs in-state and out-of-state graduate tuition with each school's institution-wide net price, plus median graduate debt and projected 10-year earnings. Net price is an institutional average across all students and degree levels, so treat it as a directional benchmark rather than a personal quote.

SchoolIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionNet Price (Institutional Avg.)Median Graduate DebtMedian Earnings (10 yr)
Valdosta State University$6,316$18,934$10,945$24,779$49,361
University of West Georgia$6,046$19,600$12,786$23,970$49,587
In-state vs. out-of-state gapBaselineRoughly 3x in-state rateN/AN/AN/A

Accreditation in Georgia: ALA, CAEP, and AASL Explained

Accreditation determines where your degree will be accepted, which licenses you can pursue, and which employers will take your application seriously. In Georgia, two distinct accreditation lanes matter, and choosing the right one starts with knowing what kind of librarian you want to be.

ALA Accreditation: The Standard for Academic and Public Libraries

The American Library Association (ALA) accredits master's degrees in library and information science, and ALA accredited programs are widely treated as the gold standard for academic, public, and special library positions. Most academic library job postings explicitly require an ALA-accredited MLIS or MLS.

In Georgia, Valdosta State University holds ALA accreditation for its MLIS program under the 2023 Standards.1 The current accreditation was granted in January 2022, with a follow-up report due in October 2025 and the next comprehensive review scheduled for 2028.2 For Georgia residents who want flexibility, ALA-accredited online programs based in neighboring states (such as those in Tennessee, Alabama, South Carolina, and Florida) are equally valid choices and often enroll students nationwide.

CAEP and AASL: The School Library Media Lane

If your goal is to work as a K-12 school library media specialist in a Georgia public school, the accreditation that matters changes. School library media programs are typically reviewed through the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) and aligned with the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) standards, and they tie directly to certification through the Georgia Professional Standards Commission (PSC).

Georgia College's School Library Media program is structured around this CAEP/AASL pathway and prepares graduates for PSC certification. Valdosta State also offers a separate M.Ed. in Instructional Technology with a Library Media track that is nationally recognized through ALA/AASL review, distinct from its ALA-accredited MLIS.3 If you're weighing this route, our guide to school librarian certification walks through the steps in more detail.

Picking the Right Lane

  • Academic, public, or special libraries: choose an ALA-accredited MLIS.
  • K-12 school librarian in Georgia: choose a CAEP/AASL-aligned program that leads to PSC certification.
  • Unsure or want both options open: an ALA-accredited MLIS with a school library track can sometimes satisfy both, but verify PSC certification eligibility with the program before enrolling.

Admission Requirements: GPA, GRE, and Non-Library Backgrounds

Georgia's MLIS programs have streamlined admissions in recent years, dropping standardized testing in favor of holistic review. Here is what applicants should expect for the 2026 cycle.

GPA and Test Score Expectations

Valdosta State University's MLIS program requires a minimum 3.0 undergraduate GPA for full admission in 2026, and the program does not require the GRE.1 This aligns with a broader national trend: most ALA-accredited programs have dropped standardized testing entirely, judging that transcripts, writing samples, and references predict graduate success more reliably. Career changers worried about test prep can also explore MLS no GRE options at programs across the country.

Georgia College's School Library Media MEd similarly emphasizes GPA and prior academic record over test scores. Applicants below the stated GPA threshold can sometimes gain provisional admission by submitting a stronger statement of purpose or completing a few graduate hours with high marks before full matriculation.

Required Application Materials

Expect to submit the following for any Georgia MLIS or school library media program:

  • Official transcripts from every college attended
  • A statement of purpose explaining your interest in librarianship and career goals
  • Two or three letters of recommendation, ideally from faculty or supervisors
  • A current resume or CV
  • An application fee, typically $40 to $50

Some programs also request a brief writing sample or a short interview, especially for school media tracks.

Non-Library and Non-Education Backgrounds

Good news for career changers: the MLIS at Valdosta State accepts applicants holding a bachelor's degree in any field.1 You do not need an undergraduate library science or education major, and prior library work experience is welcomed but not required. If you are still mapping out library science degree requirements in general, the broader pathway looks much the same nationwide.

The school library media route is the one exception. To earn Georgia school librarian certification through Georgia College or a similar program, applicants typically need an existing teaching certificate or must complete added coursework and a supervised practicum. If you plan to work in a K-12 setting, confirm certification pathways with the program coordinator before applying.

Deadlines and Start Terms

Valdosta State's priority application deadline is March 15 for fall 2026 admission, with rolling review for later terms when space allows.1 Most Georgia programs offer fall, spring, and summer entry, so plan to apply roughly four to six months before your intended start.

Georgia Librarian Salary and Career Outlook

Georgia's library workforce concentrates in metro Atlanta, but pay and demand vary across the state. The figures below combine BLS wage data for SOC 25-4022 (Librarians and Media Collections Specialists) and SOC 25-4031 (Library Technicians) with 10-year median earnings reported by the College Scorecard for Georgia MLIS-granting institutions.

Area or ProgramRole / SOC CodeMean Annual WageEmploymentSource Year
Georgia (statewide)Librarians and Media Collections Specialists (25-4022)$70,900Not reported2022
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-RoswellLibrarians and Media Collections Specialists (25-4022)$76,1801,9702024 wage / 2023 employment
Augusta-Richmond CountyLibrarians and Media Collections Specialists (25-4022)$63,070Not reported2022
SavannahLibrarians and Media Collections Specialists (25-4022)$68,930Not reported2022
Atlanta-Sandy Springs-RoswellLibrary Technicians (25-4031)$38,1301,2302023
University of West Georgia (MLIS completers)Median earnings 10 years after entry$49,587n/aCollege Scorecard
Valdosta State University (MLIS completers)Median earnings 10 years after entry$49,361n/aCollege Scorecard

How to Become a Librarian in Georgia: Step-By-Step

The path to librarianship in Georgia depends on the setting you want to work in. Public and academic librarians need an ALA-accredited MLIS but no state license, while school library media specialists must also earn GaPSC certification. Plan on roughly two to three years from MLIS start to first job if you study part-time.

Five-step path from bachelor's degree to first librarian role in Georgia, including ALA-accredited MLIS and GaPSC certification for school media specialists.

Frequently Asked Questions About Georgia MLIS Programs

These quick answers cover the questions prospective students ask most often about earning a Master's in Library Science in Georgia. Use them as a starting point, then verify details with each program's admissions office before applying.

Which Georgia universities offer ALA-accredited MLIS programs?
Valdosta State University offers the only ALA-accredited Master of Library and Information Science program based in Georgia. Students who want additional ALA-accredited options can also enroll in fully online programs from out-of-state universities, since ALA accreditation applies regardless of where the institution is physically located.
How much does an online MLIS cost in Georgia?
Tuition varies by institution and residency status, but in-state students at Georgia public universities typically pay the lowest rates per credit hour. Total program costs generally range from roughly $15,000 to $30,000 for the full degree. Always check current per-credit tuition, fees, and any e-tuition rates on the program's official website.
Do Georgia MLIS programs require the GRE?
Most Georgia MLIS programs, including Valdosta State, do not require the GRE for admission. Schools generally place more weight on undergraduate GPA, a personal statement, recommendation letters, and relevant work or volunteer experience. Applicants with lower GPAs may occasionally be asked to submit test scores, so confirm requirements directly with each program.
What is the average librarian salary in Georgia?
Librarian salaries in Georgia vary by setting and experience level. According to federal labor data, librarians and media collections specialists in the state generally earn between $45,000 and $70,000 per year, with academic and specialized librarians often at the higher end. School librarians follow district pay scales and typically earn salaries comparable to teachers.
How long does it take to complete an online MLIS in Georgia?
Most online MLIS programs in Georgia require 36 to 39 credit hours and take about two years of full-time study to complete. Part-time students often finish in three to four years. A few programs offer accelerated tracks that allow motivated full-time students to graduate in 18 to 20 months.
How do I become a school librarian in Georgia?
To work as a school librarian in Georgia, you generally need a master's degree in library media or school library media from an approved program and certification from the Georgia Professional Standards Commission. Programs at institutions like Valdosta State and Georgia College align coursework with state media specialist certification requirements.

Recent Articles